58th NABE Annual Meeting
September 10-13, 2016
Loews Atlanta
Atlanta, GA

The 2016 NABE Annual Meeting has concluded in Atlanta!

Speaker presentations are now available for NABE members. Hear President Lockhart's remarks which took place Monday, September 12.

View photos from the NABE Annual Meeting.

The conference explored the theme of “Global Business, Domestic Tension: Navigating the World Economy,” underscoring the multi-faceted realities confronting both the world economy and the science of economics. Sessions examining the global outlook, trade, energy, inflation and policy choices will set the stage for deeper discussions. The meeting will also focus on the challenges of structural change, productivity, demographics,  immigration, the GIG economy, Big Data, neuro-economics, and data visualization.

The conference will take place at the Loews Atlanta Hotel in the mid-town neighborhood of Atlanta, GA. 

Confirmed Speakers

Athey  Dugas  Fanning  Frieden  Lockhart
Lund  Shiller  Tadelis  White  Wolfers


David Altig, Executive Vice President and Director of Research, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Susan Athey
, The Economics of Technology Professor, Stanford Graduate School of Business
Michael Bailey, Economic Research Manager, Facebook
Rahul Basole, Associate Professor, College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology
Nariman Behravesh, Chief Economist, IHS Markit
Guy Berger, Economist, LinkedIn
Jeff Currie, Senior Commodity Analyst, GoldmanSachs
Amy Crews Cutts, CBE, Senior Vice President and Chief Economist, Equifax
Gregory Daco, Head of US Macroeconomics, Oxford Economics
Richard J. Dugas, Jr., Chairman and CEO, PulteGroup, Inc.
Lisa Emsbo-Mattingly, CBE, 2015-16 NABE President, Director of Research – Global Asset Allocation, Fidelity Investments
Tom Fanning, Chairman, CEO, and President, Southern Company
Tom Frieden, Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Paul Glimcher, Director, Institute for the Interdisciplinary Study of Decision Making, New York University
James Hoadley, Associate Director, Georgia Institute of Technology's Center for International Business Education and Research
Felipe Hernandez, Latin American Economist, Bloomberg Intelligence
Patrick Higgins, Associate Policy Adviser and Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Douglas Holtz-Eakin, President, American Action Forum
Thomas Holzheu, Chief Economist, Americas, Swiss Re
Gary Hufbauer, Reginald Jones Senior Fellow, Peterson Institute for International Economics
Sara Johnson, CBE, Senior Research Director, Global Economics, IHS Markit Economics
Egil Juliussen, Senior Director & Analyst, Automotive Technology, IHS Markit
Andrew W. Jung, Senior Vice President and Co-Director of Research, Montag & Caldwell
Stephen J. Kay, Americas Center Director, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Susan Kintanar, Regional Director, Eastern Region, Export Import Bank of the U.S.
Laura Kodres, Assistant Director and Division Chief for the Asian Division, Institute for Capacity Development, International Monetary Fund, International Monetary Fund
Jed Kolko, Chief Economist, Indeed
Richard Koss, Director of the Global Housing Watch Initiative and Visiting Scholar, International Monetary Fund
Jessica Lautz, Manager of Member & Consumer Survey Research, National Association of Realtors
Dennis Lockhart, President and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
Susan Lund, Director of Research, McKinsey Global Institute
Stuart Mackintosh, CBE, NABE 2015-16 Vice President, Executive Director, Group of Thirty
Rob Martin, Director and Senior US Economist, Barclays Capital
Michael W. Masters, Founder and Managing Member, Masters Capital
Joseph McKenna, Business Economist, Eaton Corporation
Bob McNally, Founder and President, The Rapidan Group
Emily Kolinski Morris, CBE, Chief Economist, Ford Motor Company
Casey Mulligan, Professor of Economics, University of Chicago
Ken Nesbitt, International Accounts and Small Business Development, UPS 
Pia Orrenius, Vice President and Senior Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Álvaro Santos Pereira, Director of the Country Studies Branch, Economics Department, OECD
Sree Ramaswamy, Senior Fellow, McKinsey Global Institute
Eric Reinhardt, Winship Distinguished Research Professor of Political Science, Emory University
Issi Romem, Chief Economist, BuildZoom
Mark Schwartz, President, PIRA
Robert J. Shiller, Nobel Laureate; Sterling Professor of Economics, Yale University
Dan Sichel, Professor of Economics, Wellesley College
Jorge Sicilia, Chief Economist, BBVA Group
J.P. Soltesz, Market Strategy Leader, General Electric
Michael Strain, Director of Economic Policy Studies, American Enterprise Institute
Chad Syverson, J. Baum Harris Professor of Economics, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Steve Tadelis, Vice President, Economics, Amazon.com
Cliff Waldman, Director of Economic Studies, Manufacturers Alliance for Productivity and Innovation  
William R. White, Chairman of the Economic and Development Review Committee (EDRC), OECD
Justin Wolfers, Professor of Economics and Public Policy, University of Michigan
Mine Yücel, CBE, Senior VP and Director of Research, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas


Structural economic change
The "GIG Economy"
Big Data
Data visualization

CBE Courses

Plus! Stick around after the Annual Meeting and earn your Certificates in Writing Skills and Communication/Presentation Skills for Business Economists and Analysts. Both courses are prerequisites for earning the CBE designation.

September 14, 2016
Writing Skills for Business Economists & Analysts  
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

September 15-16, 2016
Communication & Presentation Skills for Business Economists & Analysts 
2 days, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta



We would like to thank our sponsors for their support of the 2016 NABE Annual Meeting:
















American Chemistry Council
Macroeconomic Advisers, LLC

Standard Chartered

Is your firm interested in sponsoring the NABE Annual Meeting? Download the sponsorship packet below or call 202-462-6223.

2016 AM Sponsorship Packet
(Adobe PDF File)

No content found

No content found

No content found

No content found

No content found

No content found

Register Now


  • NABE Member Registration: $895
  • US Government Employee Registration: $895
  • Nonmember Registration (includes Membership Dues): $1,045
  • Students (student member; no meals): $75

Register now


The NABE Foundation will award scholarships to the 2016 NABE Annual Meeting. To be eligible for consideration to receive the scholarship, one must:

  1. Be 35 years old or younger
  2. Have worked in the economics field for seven years or less
  3. Currently be involved in a position that uses economic principles and theory
  4. Hold an undergraduate college degree or higher.

NOTE: The deadline for applications is July 29, 2016.

More information